Texas Adjusters: How To Become A Texas Property & Casualty Adjuster
To become a Texas Property and Casualty adjuster or an All-Lines adjuster, you need to pass the Texas P&C Adjuster state exam. The pre-license exam is administered by Pearson VUE, a third-party company contracted by the state of Texas, and issued by the Texas Department of Insurance.
The Texas Department of Insurance regulates adjusters in this state. The department issues licenses to non-residents as well as residents. You can apply for your Texas insurance adjuster license online or by mail.
Texas Adjuster License Requirements
Furthermore, to hold an adjuster’s license in Texas, you must meet certain requirements in order to be eligible for this license. If you plan on being a catastrophe claims adjuster, you need a Texas Adjuster License.
To get your Texas Adjuster’s license you need to take a pre-licensing course or complete an online course. The pre-licensing course will cost between $100 and $400.
The license application also requires a background check which costs $50, and an exam fee of either $50 or $75 depending on what type of adjuster you want to become; independent or staff adjuster.
After you have passed the exam, submitted an application, and paid the required fees, it may take the Texas Department of Insurance about two months to process your application and issue your license. The license will be valid for two years from the date it is issued.
What Is A Texas All-Lines Adjuster License?
The most common nationwide license is the property and casualty adjuster license, which allows you to handle claims for cars, homes, businesses, etc. However, there is also an All-Lines license available in Texas.
The Texas All-Lines Adjuster license allows you to work claims for property and casualty, plus crop and surety insurance companies in the state of Texas. It is the most common adjuster license in the state of Texas.
The All-Lines adjuster designation is not required in order to become a public adjuster (someone who represents policyholders). It is an added designation that can be obtained if you are 18 years of age or older, have completed 60 hours of coursework, and have no criminal record or disciplinary actions against your insurance licenses within 3 years prior to applying for this license.
After completing the coursework and passing the state exam on insurance laws and ethics, you will receive your All-Lines adjuster designation.
Texas offers two types of All-Lines licenses:
Temporary Non-Resident and Resident adjusters. A non-resident applicant who holds a similar type of adjuster license in their home state can apply for a temporary 90-day non-resident All-Lines license. You cannot extend this license for any additional time period, but you can apply for a resident All-Lines license at any time during the temporary period.
Texas P&C Adjuster License FAQ
Does An Insurance Adjuster Need A License In Texas?
If you need to hire an adjuster or insurance agent to handle a claim under your auto insurance policy, you’ll want to make sure they have a license. Insurance adjusters and agents must take the required training courses before being able to offer advice on your insurance needs.
To get a license, you’ll need to pass a test administered by the state agency that regulates insurance adjusting. You may need to pay for a test prep course to help prepare you for the exam. If you’re licensed, you’ll also be able to obtain a business card with your license number on it.
What Are The Requirements For A Texas Adjuster License?
To become licensed in Texas, applicants must pass an examination and pay $125. The exam consists of 200 multiple choice questions, 50 essay questions, and 50 short answer questions.
The exam is designed to test basic knowledge of insurance law, contract law, and liability. Applicants who pass the exam are eligible to apply for a license. To renew, applicants must pass an annual examination administered by the State Board of Insurance.
How Much Do Adjusters Make In Texas?
An adjuster typically works full-time for an insurance company. However, some adjusters may work part-time or freelance, particularly for smaller companies.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the median annual wage for all adjusters was $48,080 in May 2015. The average hourly wage was $23.20 per hour. The highest paying states for adjusters were Nevada ($62,950), Washington ($59,390), Colorado ($56,870) and Arizona ($55,790). The lowest paying states for adjusters were Mississippi ($34,210), Arkansas ($36,060), and Kentucky ($37,710).
How Long Does It Take To Get A Texas Adjuster License?
It takes about two weeks for an applicant to become a licensed adjuster. Applicants must pass the State Board of Insurance Exam and the National Association of Professional Background Examiners exam before they can begin to take the required written test.
Applicants must complete all requirements by April 1st of each year and must maintain good standing during the entire two years. The license renewal period is six months.
Need Help Getting Your Adjuster License, Training, and Jobs?
At Major Adjusters, we believe that the best way to become an excellent independent insurance adjuster is through hands-on learning. That’s why our classes are taught by certified instructors and take place in a comfortable online environment.
After becoming licensed, we’ll work for hand and hand with you to get you the training, skills, and confidence to work as an independent adjuster. We want you to be able to walk away from our mentorship program feeling confident and prepared to work on your own.
Come join the Major Adjusters community and start learning today! Learn More Here: https://majoradjusters.com/products-for-adjusters/
Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your design. Kudos
Thank you. It is just we research and collate the information for our readers and career progression seekers in Insurance Claims Adjusters